Research Ahead of its Time

Before, I get into the research, I have to tell you the reason for the lack of posting the last 5 days..whether it may have been noticed or not, lol.  I have had recipe bomb after recipe bomb as of late!!  Frustrating.  Really frustrating.  But that’s what happens when you experiment, and you can’t always have home runs.  I wanted you to know, too, so that you know I only post what actually is worthwhile….and sometimes there is a bunch of not worthwhile….I would eat it, just so not to waste, but I wouldn’t serve it to anybody.  My really great guy has been kind saying ‘it’s really not that bad’…I appreciate this.  It does make me feel better.  …Don’t worry, though, this too shall pass and a fabulous recipe is on the horizon…I can feel it 😉

A clip from The China Study, by T.Colin Campbell

‘….A group of doctors took a group of patients with advanced heart disease and put them on a low-fat, low-cholesterol diet.  They found these patients died at a rate four times lower than patients who didn’t follow the diet.

It was now clear that heart disease wasn’t the inevitable result of old age.  Any discussion of diet, however was narrowly focused on fat and cholesterol.  These two became the bad guys.  We now know that this was misguided.  The possibility that no one wanted to consider was that fat and cholesterol were merely indicators of animal food intake.  This study suggests that the more animal protein you eat, the more heart disease you have. In addition, dozens of studies show that feeding rats, rabbits and pigs animal protein dramatically raises cholesterol levels, whereas plant protein dramatically lowers cholesterol levels and eating plant protein has even greater power to lower levels than reducing fat or cholesterol.

Somehow animal protein has remained in the shadows while saturated fat and cholesterol have taken the brunt of the criticism.  These 3 nutrients ( fat, animal protein and cholesterol) characterize animal-based food in general.  So isn’t it perfectly reasonable to wonder whether animal-based food, and not just these isolated nutrients, causes heart disease?

Of course no one pointed a finger at animal based foods in general.  It would have led immediately to professional isolation and ridicule.  The status quo boys didn’t like it.  The unfortunate association of meat with physical ability, general manliness, sexual identity and economic wealth all cloud how the status quo scientists view food, regardless of the health evidence…’

To be continued

More China Study Clips Here

 

20 responses to “Research Ahead of its Time

  1. I love that you admit flops in the kitchen! I happens to me all the time!! Frustrating, but it does make us better cooks for it! 🙂

  2. Ha! You think you had some recent bombs, you should see my potato (mush) patties! Then there was the homemade Sietan…yuck! It almost drove me to buy a hamburger! I’m so glad to hear I’m not the only one who has to pull out a Morning Star burger for a quick replacement meal. Oh yeah, yesterday I made muffins. No not muffins, raw in the center Eiffel Towers! They grew 6″ tall and I forgot to add the nuts! Is that a KFC I’m smelling?

  3. petit4chocolatier

    Heather, please don’t worry about the recipes. I would say everyone has the same thing happen. I know it happens with me and I would never post them either. I will eat them myself too!! Great study and am looking forward to more.

  4. Don’t you just hate when that happens?! And…it does! It’s just part of the process and makes us appreciate the really tasty successes…even more!

  5. I’m like most men, therefore I can’t do that!!! It would be like admitting we men get lost while driving. (I have heard of that happening but have NEVER experienced it myself..ahem.) On the other hand, if a woman messes up a recipe, we men rush over, kiss her on the forehead and tell her it was superbly delicious no matter how it came out. We can lie really well when we need to! EG; “Is there enough left for seconds Heather? That was the best bowl of brown mush I’ve ever tasted, ten times better than my mothers brown bowl of mush! Why I not only want seconds I’m sending your mushy recipe to ‘Pioneer Woman Cooks’ just to clobber her self esteem!” …And they say men don’t know how to treat a women! Ha!!!

  6. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving and are in the midst of a great Thanksgiving weekend!

  7. Pingback: Heart Disease History | Plant Based Diet Adventures

Leave a comment