Protein That Consistently Promotes Cancer

That blog title is kinda scary, I apologize.  I don’t want to be dramatic.  I just want to share pieces of information that would be good for us all to be aware of.

You may have seen a post Vegan!?…Why?? I did, sharing snipets from The China Study.  The comments I received from people, detailing the impact on, & change in, their lives, and more significantly disease in their lives, by going to Plant Based eating clued me ‘huh (lightbulb)’….as The China Study states ‘Yet despite the urgent need for this understanding and health, people are still confused from massive amounts of mis-information.’

I don’t know if this information will shed any light for anyone, and everyone has to do their own research, make their own choices and come to their own conclusions.  I hope to put out there enough here and there to encourage us to think, and dig a little further.

Snipet Continued from Vegan!?….Why??:

…’The amounts of protein being fed in this study were those that humans routinely consume.  Not extraordinary levels, as is so often seen in carcinogen studies.  We found that not all proteins had this effect..

What protein consistently and strongly promoted cancer? Casein, which makes up 87% of cow’s milk protein.

What type of protein did not promote cancer, even at high levels of intake?  The safe proteins were from plants, including wheat, and soy.

This project/study eventually produced more than 8000 statistically significant associations between various dietary factors and disease.  What made this project especially remarkable is that: people who ate the most animal-based foods got the most chronic disease.  Even relatively small intakes of animal-based food were associated with adverse effects.  People who ate the most plant-based foods were the healthiest and tended to avoid chronic disease.  These results could not be ignored.

These findings show that heart disease, diabetes, and obesity can be reversed by diet intake.  Various cancers, autoimmune diseases, bone health, kidney health, vision and brain disorders in old age (like cognitive dysfunction and Alzheimer’s) are convincingly influenced by diet.  Most importantly, the diet that has time and again been shown to reverse and/or prevent these diseases is the same whole foods plant-based diet.’

As a former hard core carnivore choosing meat and animal products before any other option, breakfast, lunch and dinner, my goal is to keep pumping out as many recipes that meet and satisfy the horizon of options I enjoyed as a carnivore along with feeling just as satisfied (if not more satisfied because there’s a heavy, sluggish, weightedness missing as I eat plant based).  I’ll keep ’em coming.

And please let me know, any thoughts you have …..and maybe we can all rock climb together at 90 😉

17 responses to “Protein That Consistently Promotes Cancer

  1. Like I wrote you and said, “I tried you lasagna and it was great!” Have you run across a good way to make your own sei tan yet? I’m a more ‘from scratch’ guy. When I ate beef, I knew the cow and knew it was only grass fed and never ate any corn. I just don’t want to throw all my trust into a company that I can’t be there to watch how they really make stuff. I love morning stars chicken patties and ribblets. I figure there’s got to be a way to make ’em at home 🙂

    • I have not done this yet. Though now that you’ve mentioned it, I will let you know what I find about making my own seitan…..hmmmmm
      Thank you for bringing this up 😉

      • No rush, just wondered. I’ll sit waiting patiently, tapping my foot until you post it! LOL Only kidding, I like your blog and how you write. I’ll see it when and if you post it. 🙂 Joe

        • LOL, sounds good! I just posted this comment, but not quite right because it was meant to be to you:

          Check this out, I’m going to try this version of making my own seitan and I’ll let you know how mine goes!
          http://www.neverhomemaker.com/2009/12/make-your-own-seitan-how-to.html

          Let me know your thoughts!

          • It looks great! My son and I both love tinkering in the kitchen (two men in a kitchen??? LOL). He wants to make buffalo hot wings from sei tan and me chicken patty’s. As soon as I can figure out where to get these ingrediants, I’ll try it out too. I’m not sure if you saw my blog email address so here it is. jedwardsportstlucie@gmail.com 🙂

          • Sounds great! That’s awesome that you and your son cook together, how fantastic!! Thank you for your email address! I’ll let you know how my pursuits go with this 😉

          • 🙂 Great, can’t wait.

          • Hey there, I thought this might interest you…Vegan Lamb (made from homemade seitan) Let me know what you think 😉
            http://www.veganappetite.com/2009/02/food-network-friday-pan-fried-lamb-chops-with-harissa.html

          • Wow… But I’m getting frustrated 😦
            My change from meat to veggies is a lot more complicated than I thought. First thing is…being new to this type of cooking I have no idea what some of the ingredients are that they are talking about. Things like “Good tasting nutritional yeast flakes” (versus what, bad tasting?), Tamari? Nooch? vital versus regular gluten?…Ahhhhh!
            I really don’t have a store nearby that sells some of this. If I buy say vital wheat gluten online, the price is from $3.99 to $10.99??? What’s the difference?
            I need HELP!!!
            If I’m this dumb, I bet there’s a whole herd of us out here.
            I’m wondering if my gluten is vital enough or if my Nooch is Noochy deficient or God forbid my Tamari is really a covert word for my friend Tami and I’m being asked to cook her down in a pot like a missionary in the jungle? I fear she will resist me doing that to her.
            What I need is a really good post from someone, maybe like a girl with long brown hair who looks beautiful, is really nice and has a wonderful smile and is wearing a pink scarf on her Gravitar pic to post a common sense dictionary of vegan cooking words and their uses. Uhhh, You know of anybody like that??? 🙂 Joe
            PS. (And I thought cooking with cast iron was hard to learn LOL.)

          • Lol, alright, and you know this is a really good idea! I’m going to put a page together on my blog of as many as I can think of. We’ll see how it comes together, don’t cook down Tami just yet 😉

  2. Check this out, I’m going to try this version of making my own seitan and I’ll let you know how mine goes!
    http://www.neverhomemaker.com/2009/12/make-your-own-seitan-how-to.html

  3. Thanks for all of the advice. I was vegetarian for a long time and am now eating meat again because I have an allergy to gluten but many of your recipes makemme think I could really cut back on or cut out meat again.

    • I’m glad if any of the information I’m sharing is giving you more ideas on how to be animal product free! The positive health result is undeniable. I’ve actually just begun to go gluten free whenever and where ever possible. Like last night I made burritos but I could not find gluten free burrito wraps. If you have any suggestions please let me know. But if I could have, it would have been a gluten free animal product free fabulous sauteed vegetables, black beans, vegan cheese grilled buttito topped with guacomole and salsa! My carnivore friend was drooling! LOL
      Thanks for sharing!

  4. I may be new to the vegan lifestyle and much of the vegan jargon but not to internal medicine or cooking. I opted for early retirement from the medical field to return to my love of being a cowboy but I still cook like a mad man!
    I hear a lot of buzz about going gluten free and it has me worried. The ONLY person who should be gluten free (in my opinion) is someone with a medical diagnosis of celiac disease. Many of the ‘self diagnosis’ symptoms I read about also are those ranging from simple over fibering ones diet to colon cancer. I’m reading a lot about the vegan plant based diet now that I’m going that direction and am very concerned over how many plain old kooky, misleading and 100% wrong articles I read on the subject.

    When I used to teach my newly diagnosed diabetic patients their diet therapy, They would come up with the most outlandish “facts” they had gleaned from “health” magazines.
    Now I am medically 99% in agreement with the Forks over Knives movie. 100% if you include the updates in the most recent research which makes the diet even easier to follow and is a bit more forgiving. But when it comes to gluten, here’s the ‘beef’ I have with going gluten free. Gluten provides essential nutrients. B vitamins, iron and fiber that are found in wholegrain products. Your body desperately NEEDS these things!

    My advice? Enjoy the plant based diet to its fullest, gluten and all but… like a newspaper, don’t believe everything you read. And… if whatever you read has the nod of approval of any movie star or ‘world renowned’ health expert…toss it in the trash.

  5. Pingback: Health Eludes Some and Embraces Others..Why? | Plant Based Diet Adventures

  6. Rock climbing at 90! Now that’s a great challenge! Sign me up! Z

Leave a Reply

