Ever driven from Alaska to S Carolina?…

That’s the reason I haven’t posted in 3 weeks….whewww!
My son graduated from high school and we left on a cross (2) countries drive!
Do you know you have to go about 7-8 hours north in Alaska to drive out of it?? We crossed the border into Canada, in the Yukon Territory….

I was a little terrified about this whole drive.
If something happens to you out there in certain parts of Alaska & the Yukon you are s.o.l. for a bit. ( I taught my 2 sons that means So Outta Luck. One of ’em came home a little bothered after getting razzed in high school over what it really means lol! Innocence is something to be protected & held onto 😉
So I got a bumper to bumper check on the Jeep Commander, signed up with AAA, and made sure we had a good combination of cash & credit cards.

What we saw, what my son got to experience, was irreplaceable & an experience like we won’t have again together as he heads off to college.

5000 miles..I’m going to create a page on the blog dedicated to the trip.

At this point suffice to say our top 3 favorite sites, places, experiences on the drive (in the order we saw them):

The Wine Country of British Columbia, Canada into northern Washington state. Jagged, steep rock faces fall into lush green vineyards with a wine pub about every 100 feet. Amazing! Awesome.

Drop into Washington to the Coulee Dam….wow. Sandstone rock faces, amazing views and such kind people..seriously wowzers.

Hands down, the most mind blowing, was Wyoming. I would have never guessed it. You probably couldn’t have convinced me til being there myself.
The red rock formations, faces, country side. I wanted to stop, for months. I don’t know about you, and I’m going to show some ignorance here, but I always thought of red rock formations as Arizona..Utah..New Mexico.
My son & I agreed, we will come back, and spend time in Wyoming. Covering it by horseback, and take it in…mmmm.

I had to go at one point here, really had to go lol! And there was no near by services we could see. My son said ‘Mom, go ahead, if you get bit by a rattler in the a__ I’m not sucking out the poison.
…we’ll see…
……luckily we weren’t put to test 😉

My posting begins again..I’ve missed it so!!
And I hope you enjoy the page I’ll be creating imaging the trip 🙂

4 responses to “Ever driven from Alaska to S Carolina?…

  1. petit4chocolatier

    How wonderful of a drive, yet a little risky. It sounds as though it was one of the best experiences. I have driven my children through several states before to visit family, but never through the Yukon and Alaska! You are amazing Heather!!

    • Judy, that was an experience of a lifetime. Literally. I will never get one on one time like that with my son again most likely now that he’s grown. Just the 2 of us and 5000 miles. We even came up with a theme song for the trip, Brad Paisley’s ‘Time Well Wasted’. Have a listen, you can pull it up on YouTube 😉 I’ve thought about posting a page on my blog with the song playing and a moving slideshow of our trip 🙂 …..

Leave a Reply

